La Mesa Junior High

Skip to main content
Main Menu Toggle
Parents » After-School Help/Intervention Classes

After-School Help/Intervention Classes


La Mesa Junior High

Intervention Program


Purpose/ Vision


To ensure all students rise to their potential, LMJH will implement a comprehensive intervention program using research-based strategies to provide supplemental academic support to at-risk students.  Intervention is an opportunity to receive extra support in classroom content, receive individual attention from teachers, and build the necessary skills to be successful in the classroom.


What Intervention Programs are offered at LMJH?


“Team Teach” Program

“Academic” Program

Program Details:

  • Open to any student needing support
  • Limited seats available
  • Teachers may select students to participate or students/ parents may request to participate
  • Mondays
  • 3:15-4:15 pm
  • Students who attend will receive support from their Team teachers.
  • Snacks will be provided
  • Transportation is available upon request. Limited seats available
  • Students are expected to attend all sessions
  • GPA will be used to gauge effectiveness of program  

Program Details:

  • Open to at-risk students
  • Limited seats available
  • Teachers & counselors will identify at-risk students based on GPA to participate
  • 10-12 students per teacher
  • Tuesdays and Thursdays
  • 3:15-4:15 pm
  • A “Pre & Post” test are given
  • ELA support for 7th & 8th grade
  • Math support for 7th & 8th grade
  • ELD support for LTELs
  • Snacks will be provided
  • Transportation is available upon request. Limited seats available
  • Students are expected to attend all sessions  
  • GPA & “Post” test will be used to gauge effectiveness of program

How do students sign up?

  • All students participating in intervention must turn in a permission slip.  If transportation will be needed, parents must sign appropriate paperwork provided with the permission slip

Who can I contact about the program?

  • Gwen Delgado
  • Javier Peña
  • Molly Castaneda

 

Semester 1: Schedule


 

August

September

October

November

December

Dates

No intervention

Monday, 9-24-18

Thursday, 10-04-18


Monday, 10-08-18

Tuesday, 10-09-18

Thursday, 10-11-18


Monday, 10-15-18

Tuesday, 10-16-18

Thursday, 10-18-18


Monday, 10-22-18

Tuesday, 10-23-18

Thursday, 10-25-18


Monday, 10-29-18

Tuesday, 10-30-18

Thursday, 11-01-18


Monday, 11-05-18

Tuesday, 11-06-18

Thursday, 11-08-18


Tuesday, 11-13-18

Thursday, 11-15-18



Monday, 11-19-18

Tuesday, 11-20-18



Monday, 11-26-18

Tuesday, 11-27-18

Thursday, 11-29-18

Monday, 12-03-18

Tuesday, 12-04-18

Thursday, 12-06-18


Monday, 12-10-18

Tuesday, 12-11-18

Thursday, 12-13-18


Monday, 12-17-18


Semester 2: Schedule


 

January

February

March

April

May

Dates

Tuesday, 01-22-19

Thursday, 01-24-19


Monday, 01-28-19

Tuesday, 01-29-19

Thursday, 01-31-19







Monday, 02-04-19

Tuesday, 02-05-19

Thursday, 02-07-19


Monday, 02-11-19

Tuesday, 02-12-19

Thursday, 02-14-19


Tuesday, 02-19-19

Thursday, 02-21-19


Monday, 02-25-19

Tuesday, 02-26-19

Thursday, 02-28-19

Monday, 03-04-19

Tuesday, 03-05-19

Thursday, 03-07-19


Monday, 03-11-19

Tuesday, 03-12-19


Monday, 03-18-19

Tuesday, 03-19-19

Thursday, 03-21-19


Monday, 03-25-19

Tuesday, 03-26-19

Thursday, 03-28-19

Tuesday 04-09-19


Monday, 04-15-19

Tuesday, 04-16-19

Thursday, 04-18-19


Monday, 04-22-19

Tuesday, 04-23-19

Thursday, 04-25-19


Monday, 04-29-19

Tuesday, 04-30-19

No Intervention


Weekly Schedule Summary


Monday


3:15-4:15 pm

Tuesday


3:15-4:15 pm

Wednesday

Thursday


3:15-4:15 pm

Friday

Wolverines


Kam, 232

Griffins


(Rotation 2x’s/ month only)


Garcia, 632

Gettman, 634

Math


7th- Cooper, 461




8th- Savage, 504

No Intervention

Math


7th- DeChamps, 612

Cooper, 461



8th- Savage, 504

No Intervention

Broncos


(Rotation)


Good, 233

Schulman, 223

Romero, 221

Tritons


Strauss, 631

ELA


8th- Lieberman, 506

ELA


7th- Beard, 511

Falcons


(Rotation)


Kezban, 471

Klaus, 462

Frank, 464

Panthers



 

ELD


(October & November session ONLY)


LTELS- Wheeler, 222

Cougars


(Rotation)


Coleman, 303

Negri, 302

Hilst, 305

Wildcats


(Rotation)


McGeever, 211

Pulaski, 212

Putt, 214

Turski, 213

Matadors


(Rotation 2x’s/ month only)


DeCahmps, 612

King, 510